Home » UN Security Council sanctions 3 leaders of Al-Shabaab terror group

UN Security Council sanctions 3 leaders of Al-Shabaab terror group

by CKG Editor

By Merve Aydogan / Anadolu Agency

The UN Security Council (UNSC) decided to sanction three leaders of the al-Shabaab terror group in Somalia, according to a statement on Tuesday.

A statement said the three leaders have been added to the sanctions list under Security Council Resolution 2713.

It said those sanctioned would be denied access to funds and be subjected to travel restrictions.

The Permanent Mission of the UK to the UN wrote Wednesday on X that the decision was made following requests from Somalia.

“Al-Shabaab are violent terrorists, responsible for the deaths of civilians, activists, aid workers and journalists. They must be held to account,” it said.

The Horn of Africa country has been plagued by insecurity for years, with the main threats emanating from al-Shabaab and the Daesh/ISIS terror groups.

Since 2007, al-Shabaab has been fighting the Somali government and the African Union Transition Mission in Somalia (ATMIS), a multidimensional mission authorized by the African Union and mandated by the United Nations Security Council.

The terror group has increased attacks since Somali President Hassan Sheikh Mohamud, who was elected for a second term last year, declared an “all-out war” on al-Shabaab.

Source – Anadolu Agency

You may also like

Leave a Comment

About Us

CKG, is an independent media outlet that reports reliable news and information on Somalia, quotes and also daily events of the region.

Contact us

Copyright © 2024 CodkaKoonfurGalbeed.com All Rights Reserved. | Developed by KaDiiL Tech
The Real News Network
Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com